TORONTO – On Tuesday, the Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) and Rowing Canada Aviron (RCA) named the 26 athletes nominated to represent Team Canada in rowing at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games from August 5 to 21.

Of the 26 athletes, there are 10 returning Olympians, including six who stood on the podium at London 2012. Leading the way is Lesley Thompson-Willie, the coxswain of the women’s eight, who will be competing in her eighth Olympic Games, tying the all-time women’s record for any sport.

Canada qualified six boats last September at the World Rowing Championships in Aiguebelette, France. The men’s quadruple sculls qualified as the seventh and final boat at the Final Olympic Qualification Regatta in Lucerne, Switzerland in May.

Canada’s final pre-Olympic competition also took place in Lucerne at the second World Rowing Cup where the lightweight women’s double sculls crew of Lindsay Jennerich and Patricia Obee won a gold medal. Training camps for the men’s and women’s rowing teams will be held in July in Guelph and London, Ontario respectively.

The rowing competition will take place at the Lagoa Stadium, August 6-14, with eight men’s events and six women’s events.

The rowing team which will represent Canada at Rio 2016 includes:

Julien Bahain, Angers, France, Men’s quadruple sculls
Will Crothers, Kingston, ON, Men’s four
Will Dean, Kelowna, BC, Men’s quadruple sculls
Caileigh Filmer, Victoria, BC, Women’s eight
Rob Gibson, Kingston, ON, Men’s quadruple sculls
Susanne Grainger, London, ON, Women’s eight
Nicole Hare, Calgary, AB, Women’s pair
Brendan Hodge, South Delta, BC, Lightweight men’s four
Lindsay Jennerich, Victoria, BC, Lightweight women’s double sculls
Kai Langerfeld, North Vancouver, BC, Men’s four
Maxwell Lattimer, Delta, BC, Lightweight men’s four
Pascal Lussier, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, Men’s quadruple sculls
Jennifer Martins, Toronto, ON, Women’s pair
Natalie Mastracci, Thorold, ON, Women’s eight
Conlin McCabe, Brockville, ON, Men’s four
Cristy Nurse, Georgetown, ON, Women’s eight
Patricia Obee, Victoria, BC, Lightweight women’s double sculls
Nicolas Pratt, Kingston, ON, Lightweight men’s four
Lisa Roman, Langley, BC, Women’s eight
Christine Roper, Montego Bay, JAM, Women’s eight
Tim Schrijver, Thedford, ON, Men’s four
Lesley Thompson-Willie, London, ON, Women’s eight
Antje von Seydlitz, Smithers, BC, Women’s eight
Lauren Wilkinson, North Vancouver, BC, Women’s eight
Eric Woelfl, St. Catharines, ON, Lightweight men’s four
Carling Zeeman, Cambridge, ON, Women’s single sculls

Ashley Brzozowicz, Omemee, ON, Alternate
Matthew Buie, Duntroon, ON, Alternate
Hillary Janssens, Cloverdale, BC, Alternate
Kate Sauks, Owen Sound, ON, Alternate

Performance Director, Women’s Program, John Keogh, Launcestron, Tasmania, Australia
Performance Director, Men’s Program, Martin McElroy,Galway, Ireland
Performance Director, Lightweight Men’s Program, Al Morrow, London, ON
Coach, Phil Marshall, Brockville, ON
Coach, Tom Morris, Perth, Western Australia
Coach, Volker Nolte, Saarbrücken, Germany
Coach, Terry Paul, Peterborough, ON