Team BC swept both divisions at the 2015 Coloplast Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Championships today at the University of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon. BC A ended the Ontario Thunder’s four-year winning streak with a 60-58 victory. In Division 2, BC B defeated the Alberta Bighorns 48-46 in another close game.

“All of the games today came down to the final moments,” said Saskatchewan Wheelchair Sports Association Executive Director Andrea Muir. “I think we showcased how exciting wheelchair rugby can be.”

In the Division 1 bronze medal game, Quebec narrowly beat Alberta 56-54. Team Saskatchewan’s home court advantage powered them to Division 2 bronze.

**Note: The names of all awards recipients are under moratorium until Saturday, May 31st at 10 pm**

Several Saskatchewan athletes won awards at the event’s awards banquet. John Loeppky (Regina, SK) won the Judith Zelman Rookie of The Year Award and will receive a new rugby wheelchair valued at over $5000. John represented Saskatchewan at the 2015 Canada Winter Games in wheelchair basketball this February, and has recently made the switch to wheelchair rugby. Miranda Biletski (Regina, SK) was named Division 2 MVP and was also named to the All Star team.

Congratulations to:

Division 1

MVP: Zak Madell (Okotoks, AB)
Best 0.5: Martin Duif (London, ON)
Best 1.0: Trevor Hirschfield (Vancouver, BC)
Best 1.5: Patrice Simard (Quebec City, QC)
Best 2.0: Ben Perkins (North Augusta, ON)
Best 2.5: Dale Nording (Edmonton, Alberta)
Best 3.0: Fabien Lavoie (Vancouver, BC)
Best 3.5 Zak Madell (Okotoks, AB)

Division 2

MVP: Miranda Biletski (Regina, SK)
Best 0.5: Jared Funk (Niverville, Manitoba)
Best 1.0: Miranda Biletski (Regina, SK)
Best 1.5: Kendall Winters (Calgary, AB)
Best 2.0: Ken Hicks (Calgary, AB)
Best 2.5: Nathan Bragg (Maple Ridge, BC)
Best 3.0: Rod Bitz (Burnaby, BC)
Best 3.5: Reid Mulligan (Ottawa, ON)